Gartner announce the Enterprise Mobility Management Suite (EMM) Leaders for 2015 – AirWatch, Mobile Iron, IBM, and Citrix Good Technology.

BYOD and the use of a mobile device as a work tool has rocketed over the last few years and shows no sign of slowing down.

With this trend comes the benefits of increased productivity, enterprise mobility and greater employee engagement are a named few. However, on the flip side there is the increasing need for companies to maintain control and the necessity for organizations to find the right balance between user experience, individual and company privacy, data security costs and competitiveness. This is where enterprise mobility management solutions come in and play a significant role within organization’s enterprise Mobility Strategy.

According to Gartner, “Enterprise mobility management (EMM) suites help organizations integrate mobile devices into their security frameworks and systems and information technology life cycles.”

Gartner’s Magic Quadrant rates vendors on their strengths within the fields; mobile device management, mobile application management, mobile identity and mobile content management, and places them into four categories: Niche Players, Visionaries, Challengers and Leaders. The EMM providers are evaluated based on their ability execute (along the y-axis) and completeness of vision (along the X-axis) and then placed in the Magic Quadrant according to their position in the market.

 

gartner magic quadrant

The top 10 players for EMM suites according to Gartner are as follows:

  • AirWatch by VMware
  • MobileIron
  • Citrix
  • IBM
  • Good Technology
  • SAP
  • Soti
  • Microsoft
  • Sophes
  • BlackBerry
  • Landesk
  • Globo

In the leader‘s square no real surprises; AirWatch by VMWare, Mobile Iron, Citrix, IBM and Good Technology; with SAP in the challenging seat, Soti, Microsoft and Sophos are the visionaries and BlackBerry, Landesk and Globo are recognized as niche players. Symantec being dropped from the grid.

 

Gartner estimates that the average enterprise has deployed between eight and fifteen mobile applications to its employees. With mobile strategy going from the use of basic tools such as email, contacts and calendar, to a much greater use of role specific and company applications and data being pushed onto mobile devices. There is an increasing need for application level controls as well as other security policies. Device management tools are no longer sufficient and there has been a significant shift towards the core features demanded by EMM tools. (Gartner Magic Quadrant for Enterprise Mobility Management 2015)

 

To download the Gartner report : http://www.air-watch.com/resources/analyst-reports/gartner-magic-quadrant-for-enterprise-mobility-management-2015/download/

Sources

http://www.business2community.com/tech-gadgets/who-made-the-list-gartners-2015-magic-quadrant-for-enterprise-mobility-management-01252148

http://www.air-watch.com/resources/analyst-reports/gartner-magic-quadrant-for-enterprise-mobility-management-2015/download/

Back

Blog

Gartner annonce la Suite Enterprise Mobility Management (EMM) Leaders pour 2015 – AirWatch, Mobile Iron, IBM, Citrix et Good Technology.

Le BYOD ainsi que l’utilisation d’appareil mobile comme outil de travail a explosé au cours des dernières années, ne montrant aucun signe de ralentissement.

Avec cette nouvelle tendance vient de nombreux avantages ; (pour en citer quelques un) une productivité accrue, une meilleure gestion de la mobilité d’entreprise et une plus grande mobilisation des employés. Revers de la médaille, une plus grande nécessité pour les entreprises de garder le contrôle et le besoin pour les organisations de trouver le juste équilibre entre l’expérience de l’utilisateur, sa vie privée, les droits de propriété intellectuelle de la société, les coûts de sécurité des données avec un regard sur la compétitivité. C’est alors (sur ces entrefaites) que les solutions de gestion de mobilité d’entreprise entrent dans la partie pour jouer un rôle fondamental au sein de l’entreprise, notamment sur l’organisation stratégique de la mobilité.

Selon Gartner, ”la suite de gestion de la mobilité d’entreprise (EMM) aide les organisations à intégrer des appareils mobiles dans leurs cadres et systèmes de sécurité ainsi que dans les différents cycles de vie des technologies de l’information. »

Magic Quadrant de Gartner évalue les fournisseurs/vendeurs par rapport a leurs forces dans les domaines suivants; gestion des périphériques mobiles, gestion de l’application mobile, l’identité mobile et sur la gestion de contenu mobile, pour les ranger en quatre catégories : acteurs de niche, visionnaires, challengers et Leaders. Les fournisseurs EMM sont évalués en fonction de leur capacité d’exécution (le long de l’axe-y) et l’exhaustivité de leur vision (le long de l’axe X), pour finalement être placé dans le Magic Quadrant en fonction de leur position sur le marché.

gartner magic quadrant

Les 10 meilleurs joueurs de suites EMM selon Gartner sont dans cette ordre:

  • AirWatch by VMware
  • MobileIron
  • Citrix
  • IBM
  • Good Technology
  • SAP
  • Soti
  • Microsoft
  • Sophes
  • BlackBerry
  • Landesk
  • Globo

Pour les leaders pas de véritables surprises ; AirWatch par VMWare , Mobile Fer , Citrix , IBM et Good Technology ; avec SAP dans la place du challenger , Soti , Microsoft et Sophos sont les visionnaires et BlackBerry , LANDesk Globo sont reconnues comme des acteurs de niche . Symantec ayant chuté de la grille.

Gartner estime qu’une entreprise moyenne déniche/propose/soumet entre huit et quinze applications mobiles à ses employés. Différentes stratégie mobile allant de l’utilisation d’outils de base tels que les emails, les contacts et le calendrier, à une utilisation plus spécifique et centré sur ’l’activité’ de l’entreprise concernent les appareils mobiles. Il existe un besoin croissant de contrôle au niveau de l’application ainsi que d’autres politiques de sécurité. Les outils de gestion de périphériques ne se suffisent plus, on a donc pu voir un changement significatif appliqué sur les fonctionnalités mères exigées par les outils EMM. ( Magic Quadrant de Gartner pour la gestion de mobilité d’entreprise 2015)